Poland and onwards, part 4 of my trip!!

Hi peoples!! I wonder how many people there actually are out there reading this!! Firstly I just want to thank everybody who left a comment on my last blog (and everyone who thought that they did too!)

Right, how far did I get up to?! After Yelenya I think! Oh yeah, I said I’d tell you about those dead dust mites in Germany?

Ok, that’s a good place to start, here we go…..

Well, after  Yelenya, we travelled a fairly long way back into Germany to the camp that Banjo (those who don’t know me, don’t assume Banjo is my brother, he’s my dog!) loved near ‘Frankfurt oder’ for a couple nights.

Here one of our camper’s Great (and highly weird) Events took place. We completely stripped Nessie from anything that was cleanable, as it was disgusting in there. It was disgusting because of the kids in Yelenya. They were in – out – in – out of the camper, until Dad got a little bit annoyed. Till the point of shooing them all out! I can’t really blame him because it was like, “Casper, feet off the sofa” “Yatzeck, stop messing with that blind” “Agata, don’t drink all our juice” “Ola, don’t eat tha…..ok, now you’ve licked it you’ll have to…”  Anyway we cleaned Nessie’s seats by beating them with marsh mellow skewers to remove unwanted dust. This was…..another new experience. And hey, that’s what my life is all about – new experiences! 😉

After 2 nights here, we moved on a LONG,LONG, LONG way to Georgenthal. We had a McDonalds on the way for Wi-Fi and that was quite nice. But when we got to our destination I – FELT – TERRIBLE!!! I think something I ate was bad or whatever.

This camp wasn’t actually in Georgenthal, but really close. We stayed here 1 night and I still felt bad. When I was feeling a bit better and I went for a little ride on my rip-stick and found a slow worm, attempting to cross a lane, without being eaten by a bird, squished by a bike, mauled by a dog(who thought it was a chew toy!), or stepped on by a pedestrian. I don’t think I would much enjoy being a slow worm! – You?!

Because there is a massive swimming pool in Georgenthal, we decided to hang around a while to go there. So, we moved Nessie across to another little camp near Georgenthal that was 15 Euros per night cheaper. Still equipped with water, toilets and electric. But the down side was that I started feeling bad all over again!! L

So, I stopped Ben going swimming. Oh poor, poor him. Huh, excuse me little brother, but I’M the one stuck in bed, not able to bat an eyelid! (By the way, that was sarcasm.) But as Mum and Dad were so especially kind, they let us stay another night, to go swimming!!! And I felt much better that morning…..NOT!

But guess who spoiled it this time……

BEN!!!!!! He was being generally naughty, so tut, tut, tut to him!

 

So as Mum and Dad were in such a great mood they let us stay yet another night, for swimming alone!!

When we eventually did get to the pool, (on Dad’s 100cc scooter) there was a large and unattractive black cloud approaching….

We got about an hour and a half in the pool before the rain came through. We were due in for a storm. A big one. Mum had decided to turn down our generous offer of accompanying us to the pool to stay back with Banjo as he had to guard the camper, (We couldn’t exactly see our little collie with a helmet and motorcyclist gloves on!!)

Still, while it was sunny, the pool was satisfactory. (Understatement of the century!!) Lovely clear blue, warm, Jacuzzi area, diving-boards, swimming lanes, extension, helter- skelter-water-slide, and very wet, is a more accurate description!

We met 2 boys there about my age and practically all the English they knew was, the song “I’M SEXY AND I KNOW IT!!!” and they kept repeating it, and getting other German kids to do the same. Dancing n all! It was hilarious!!

I went on the water slide loads too, going down every way humanly possible! People behind me were watching in fascination (either that or they were just appalled!) and some copied. Ben wanted to go behind me every time, so that he could leave the tiniest gap between us, so when we got to the bottom, he could give me a big kick….

One of the times I took Ben by surprise and stopped half way down. I stood up, (sort of) and when Ben came along behind me he went straight through my legs, and I got to kick him (kindly) at the bottom.

When we had completed our swimming session, I had a nice relaxing shower, even though the temperature was FREEZING!! But I had to do this quickly as that big black cloud was approaching fast. The reason, that this was even worse for Dad and I, was because I had to stay behind and wait for Dad to deliver Ben and come back for me….      Dad was soaked when we got back, but not me. I kind of had to give it to him, as he blocked 90% of the rain from hitting me.

We ended up staying 3 nights at this car -park camp, despite the fact that we only paid for 2. (There was nobody to give the keys back to, so we stayed, simple.)

While we were here, some random nutter, called Elvis landed him-self on our chair and started to have a chat. He knew practically no English, but that did not stop him from chatting away to himself and attempting to sing along to The Beatles. He was trying to sing ‘Love Me Do’, but he hummed rather off-tune till the part where it said ‘Love me do’, and he then said in the gruffest, alien cross vampire, growl “I LOVE YOU!” I’m pretty sure he was drunk at that precise moment in time. Then he went off and I sighed with relief, but then, he, Urrrm, came back, this time loaded with beer….. he was fine really and meant us no harm.

The next day we had to move on from Georgenthal. L!! We drove about 160 miles, down the S-L-O-W roads of Germany until we came to Hartmut’s house. Hartmut was a dear friend to my Dad’s Dad, Grandad, so we still go and visit him and his wife Maria. Dad gets on really well with them, we all do really. We met them at their ‘wilderness’. We had a barbeque with them, and that was LOVELY!! Maria makes The Best potato salad ever so we all enjoyed a 6 hour talk with them. By that time we had to leave and find a campsite with electricity. Oh, there is something I forgot to mention, our little gas problem. Yes…. Well, we had somehow completely run out of gas, and we could not get any more unless we bought a French or German or Spanish etc gas bottle. Either that, or stay in campsites with electricity for the rest of the trip. We opted for the cheaper option of buying the gas bottle, so we started heading to France to buy one.

By this time it was fairly late so we just needed anywhere to stay with electric. The closest place we found was utterly rubbish and highly disappointing. It was called ‘Worms’. Yeah, I know. But the thing was, we were squished in like sardines!! Not funny! We hated it here, so only stayed 1 night, and left in the morning.

 

This has definitely been a long blog, so until next time…….   

 

 

Leave a Reply

